Spring Cleaning


Spring Break Cookies from above.

It seems like Christmas was just a month or so ago and my retirement just a week or so back, yet, spring is starting to become more evident here in Colorado, despite a blizzard warning earlier this week, and here we are on the other side of Easter.  Lent got away from me this year, probably because I did so little planning for it, what with it coming right on the heels of Christmas; I guess I kept thinking there was time to get ready, even after Ash Wednesday had come and gone; I felt I was powerless to get things back on track.

I thought about it over Easter weekend and realized that lately, that kind of thing’s been happening a lot.  I realized I’ve been taking my faith for granted, more or less just going through the motions with things that I should be more attentive to and aware of, and prepared for.  I haven’t thought deeply lately about why I profess to be a Christian, a Catholic, and yes, even an aspiring Benedictine/Camaldolese oblate and what those things mean, I’ve accepted them without appreciating them or being grateful for them.  It has been busy in a way, I admit, lot of changes in my life, but not that busy.  I felt like I should know better, even more make an effort to turn things around.

So, it’s time to take a fresh look, and that’s what I’m going to try to do over the next year or so (it may take that long).  I plan to choose a few important books on the subject of what it means to be a Catholic Christian and go deep with them; I plan to spend even more time in prayer and solitude meditating on the truth of things.  My goal for a novel is going on the back burner.

Why am I writing about this?  One reason is, I don’t know how, or if, any of this study will affect what I write about here.  I’m hesitant to post on it very much because, when I write about being Christian or being Catholic, or even about being Benedictine, I tend to get pedantic, preachy even.  I sincerely don’t want to do that; so this is a reminder that if you see that happening, feel free to send a comment verbally slapping me up side the head.   But also, I’d like this post to be a little tickler for anyone who might read it that’s going through the same thing; maybe it’s time to consider if you, too, need to reinvestigate things you’ve been taking too much for granted.  Maybe it’s time for a little spiritual spring cleaning in your life.  If so, I hope this is the encouragement you need to get at it; after all, it’s really never a bad time for some spring cleaning, no matter what season it is.  And it’s never too late to be grateful for the many gifts received in life, no matter how obscure they may seem at the moment.

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning

  1. One of the best books I’ve found anywhere written for lay people is Introduction to the Devout Life by St. Francis de Sales. If you haven’t read it, I’d highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

