Neverland? Really?


7_quick_takes_sm1

A 7 Quick Takes on Friday post

-1-

“In the old days at home Neverland had always begun to look a little dark and threatening by bedtime.  Then unexplored patches arose in it and spread, black shadows moved about in them, the roar of beasts of prey was quite different now, and above all, you lost the certainty that you would win.  You were quite glad that the nightlights were in.  You even liked Nana to say that this was just the mantelpiece over here, and that the Neverland was all make-believe.” J.M. Barrie, Peter Pan

Sometimes, fairy tales don’t always wander that far from reality.  Then too, I thought it was Never Never land, you’d think Mr. Barrie would have consulted Disney to try to get it right.

-2-

Now over 500 homes have been destroyed in the Black Forest fire and the cost of fighting the fire is over $5.5 million.  It’s incredibly hard to conceive of the extent of this disaster.  In the last year, 856 homes destroyed in Colorado Springs.  Please pray for all concerned.

-3-

“The bond between friends cannot be broken by chance; no interval of time or space can destroy it. Not even death itself can part true friends.” ― John Cassian

-4-

A short rant on the topic of Catholic Bible editions — can we please have a good one?  I mean look at all the different varieties of Protestant Bibles and how easy it is to find one that is really worthy of the reverence due to Holy Scripture.  Not that I’m advocating dozens of different editions of the Bible, but it seems all that Catholics can get are hardcover editions or cheap paperback versions that just don’t convey the reality of sacredness of Holy Scripture.  Some editions like the Ignatius Bible, which should have been well done, just miss the mark, it seems they’re a bit too large and not quite of the quality I would like.  The closest I’ve been able to come is the RSV-CE from Benedict Press, but it has the words of Jesus in RED LETTERS and that’s a Protestant innovation.  I can’t for the life of me figure out why they did that.

If there’s a publisher of Catholic Bibles reading this, please send me an email and give me your phone number, I’d be happy to discuss this with you, or better, meet with you to provide my ideas in greater detail.  Why, we could do lunch or something.  You’d really sell a lot of Bibles!  Please, please!

There, I feel better now.

-5-

Samuel Pepys, by John Closterman (died 1711), ...

Back in the 17th century, there were no blogs, only diaries, which I think much better.  The most famous diarist of his day, maybe all time, was Samuel Pepys, described on the title page of his published diaries as, “M.A., F.R.S., Clerk of the Acts and Secretary to the Admiralty.”  I don’t know about you, but I’m impressed.  Here, for your edification, is the first entry he made in 1660.  I take it, he started it as a New Year’s Resolution, since it’s dated “January 1st (New Yeare’s Day).

“January 1st (New-Yeare’s Day). Called up by five o’clock, by my order, by Mr. Tooker, who wrote, while I dictated to him, my business of the Pursers; and so, without eating or drinking, till three in the afternoon, and then, to my great content, finished it. So to dinner, Gibson and he and I, and then to copying it over, Mr. Gibson reading and I writing, and went a good way in it till interrupted by Sir W. Warren’s coming, of whom I always learne something or other, his discourse being very good and his brains also. He being gone we to our business again, and wrote more of it fair, and then late to bed.”

I’d say old Pepys’ discourse is quite good and his brains too.

-6-

Speaking of blogs, I see the great, all devouring monster, Patheos, has swallowed up another Catholic blogger, Simcha Fisher from National Catholic Register.  It kind of bothers me, this seeming monopoly on Catholic bloggers, the best ones anyway; first because it is a monopoly and also it seem Patheos presents Catholicism as just one of many “spiritual” choices on offer.  I didn’t read Ms Fisher when she was at NCR, I think I may start now, and I read and enjoy several of the other bloggers on Patheos.  But still there’s that niggling worry in the back of my mind, are they’re out to take over the world?  Will there soon be no way to have a little blog of your own except by going through the all powerful Patheos?  Guess I’m being paranoid, but just because you’re paranoid doesn’t mean you don’t have enemies.

-7-

Well, it’s been a long week, it’s late, and so to bed.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

