St Jerome — A Prayer


St Jerome

Show unto me, O Lord, thy mercy,

And delight my heart with it.

Let me find thee,

Whom so longingly I seek.

 

See: here is the man

Whom the robbers seized, and mishandled,

And left half dead

On the road to Jericho.

O thou who can

What the kindhearted Samaritan cannot:

Come to my aid!

 

I am the sheep

Who wandered into the wilderness:

Seek after me,

And bring me home again to thy fold.

Do with me what thou wilt,

That all the days of my life

I may bide by thee, and praise thee,

With all those who art in Heaven with thee

For all of eternity.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

