On Being Out of Touch


A 7 Quick Takes on Friday post

(1)

Unexpected, at least not by the weather forecasters, snow falling on Wednesday night into Thursday morning has reminded that spring is still a couple of months away. We had been having a break in the cold weather with temps in the mid-60s; I even got both cars washed on Wednesday. Oh well . .

(2)

As much as we need the snow and as nice as it is to have more seasonal variations than we’ve had here over the last two or three years, I will be happy to see spring come again. I’m getting anxious to get up into the mountains and get some pictures, and am beginning to wonder if there really is such a thing as cabin fever. It’s always rejuvenating for me to drive a new mountain trail and find new areas to photograph, and pretend I’m a mountain man, exploring new territory like the first settler in the land. Pure fiction, of course. Still, it reconnects me to things that are somehow a little more real than the local Whole Foods or Wal-Mart parking lots.

(3)

It may be a measure of desperation in my desire to see spring on the horizon but, while I’m anxious to make a trip to the mountains, I’m also looking forward to the joy of sitting out back in the afternoon sun. I can see the afternoon clouds building over the mountains to the west, while a steak or hamburger sits on the grill. While the grill sizzles, I like to enjoy a slice or two of French bread fresh from the bakery, slathered with butter and paired with a glass of red wine. Comes close to my idea of a perfect afternoon, possibly a preview of heaven itself. And a still far away experience.

(4)

A good quote from an article earlier this week on The Catholic Thing website from Fr Schall, always one of my favorites:

“Those who know Plato and Aristotle are often envied with a passion verging on hatred. These ancient gentlemen stand for the truth. They make it clear. Our civilization is built, as I like to say, on the Socratic proposition that “It is never right to do wrong.” No statement is more hated in a relativist world. None is more envied by those who refuse to admit its truth. They have no other choice.”

(5)

I just saw a short piece in the Wall Street Journal that Facebook was buying something called the WhatsApp for, get this, $19 Billion (yes with a billion with a B). What the heck is the WhatsApp and why in the world is it worth $19 Billion? I guess I’m getting more out of touch every day. It makes me think though, maybe I could start something called the WhosApp and in a couple of years sell it for $20 billion and then everyone will know: Who’s on first.

(6)

MonksThere was an interesting article on Thursday on the Crisis web site about something called the “Benedict Option” and what it is and what it isn’t. The thing I found so surprising is that the writer of the piece had such an obviously limited idea of what Benedictine life is all about. He painted a picture of monasteries being rather closed environments, cut off from the world entirely, with monks living in unthinking obedience to the Rule and to the Abbot. People who haven’t visited monasteries or had any other contact with them might be surprised just how open to the world they are. Sometimes, I think monks are more up to date than I am. Scary.

(7)

To finish up, I encourage you to visit Jennifer Fulwiler’s Conversion Diary and enjoy Quick Takes posts from her and many other fine bloggers.

Leave a Reply

